Last Days of Dhaka

Its with great sadness that I report that I’m leaving Dhaka, and the last of my Dhaka days are coming to a close. Realizing that there were so many last things that I would be doing I set out to take as many pictures of my daily routine as possible. Here are more pictures of the city and daily life in Bangladesh.

Street Vegetable Vendor

Street Vegetable Vendor

Street Vegetable Vendor

Street Vegetable Vendor

Street Vegetable Vendor

Street Vegetable Vendor

Streets of Mirpur

Streets of Mirpur

Trash collection

Trash collection

Rickshaws lined up in Mirpur

Rickshaws lined up in Mirpur

Rickshaw ride down Gulshan Ave.

Rickshaw ride down Gulshan Ave.

Gulshan Circle on Election Day, no cars allowed, so the usual crazy circle is empty and calm!

Gulshan Circle on Election Day, no cars allowed, so the usual crazy circle is empty and calm!

Gulshan Market

Gulshan Market

Gulshan Market

Gulshan Market

P1040093

Tea Stand in Gulshan Market

Tea Stand in Gulshan Market

Gulshan Market

Gulshan Market

Tea Stand in Gulshan Market

Tea Stand in Gulshan Market

I really wanted to do something nice for the kids at the shelter before I left, so I put together a pizza dance party one afternoon! I hired a DJ to play the kids favorites, and ordered pizza, which was the first time that most of the kids had ever had pizza before.  A true experience all kids should have, a good old fashioned pizza party!

DJ!

DJ!

Me with the kids

Me with the kids

PIZZA!

PIZZA!

Dancing Queen

Dancing Queen

P1030682

Two girls that I've spent a lot of time with at the shelter

Two girls that I’ve spent a lot of time with at the shelter

P1030596P1030826

With all the kids at the shelter

With all the kids at the shelter

Saying goodbye

Saying goodbye

I have loved every minute that I spent with the kids at the shelter, and they will forever hold a special place in my heart. I learned so much from them about resilience, overcoming obstacles, and learning to be happy and thankful for what you have. The shelter is such a bright spot in all of the crazy things that you see in Bangladesh, and gives me such hope for the future. I know that those kids have a bright future ahead of them and I will miss them like crazy.

One thought on “Last Days of Dhaka

Leave a comment